PWInsider - WWE News, Wrestling News, WWE



By Mike Johnson on 2021-09-03 12:16:00

Greg Oliver over at Canada's is reporting that Waterloo, Iowa's Lou Thesz/George Tragos Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame has revealed the first honorees for its 2022 Hall of Fame weekend:

*Trish Stratus will receive the Lou Thesz Award, the Hall's highest honor.  Stratus was originally scheduled to receive this award in 2020 but the pandemic prevented her being able to accept.

*A most deserving Jim Ross will become the second-ever recipient of the Gordon Solie Award for excellence in professional wrestling broadcast.  The first receipient, last year, was Solie himself.

*Mike Rotunda will be inducted into the Tragos/Thesz Hall of Fame itself, an honor that is bestowed upon professional wrestlers with great ties to amateur wrestling and overall excellence as in-ring performers.  Rotunda, who used his accolades from his time wrestling for Syracuse University as a central point of his time in the NWA's Varsity Club is a perfect choice for the Hall.

The ceremony will be the weekend of 7/22-7/23 in Waterloo.

On a personal note, I had the opportunity to visit the Hall of Fame and Museum this past July while traveling and if you have even a passing interest in amateur wrestling, it is absolutely incredible with a really wonderful corner wing devoted to professional wrestling.  If you are ever anywhere in the area, it is well worth visiting.  For more on the Hall and Museum, click here.


If you enjoy you can check out the AD-FREE PWInsider Elite section, which features exclusive audio updates, news, our critically acclaimed podcasts, interviews and more by clicking here!